Of Note Passing and Today’s Pop Songs

A few days ago, I received a piece of almost crumpled paper from one of my co-teachers. Apparently, it was from five of my students who were passing notes with each other during class hours.

This note-passing would not be a big deal, if not for the things written on the paper. What I can remember (off the top of my head) were:

  • Need condoms, anyone?
  • Come on, let’s start this sex party!
  • Suck, lick, BJ my dick.

There are more statements like these with words such as fuck, bitches, pussy, dicks.

And did it upset me. It was appalling enough that most of what were written were from girls (girls!), but what irked me the most was the reaction of these students when I called them for further investigation. While I was reading to them all the stuff scribbled on the paper, they were laughing as if what they wrote passes off as a joke! Had I not changed the tone of my voice and had I not threatened them that I will show that trash of a paper to their parents, they wouldn’t show even a slight hint of remorse!

And Rizal said,

“Ang kabataan ang pag-asa ng bayan.”

Before all these fiasco of note-passing happened, last weekend, I went to the mall with my mom. While I was at Watson’s buying stuff to supply my stash of toiletries, Rihanna’s Rude Boy played at the background.

Come On Rude Boy, Boy
Can You Get It Up
Come Here Rude Boy, Boy
Is You Big Enough

-Rihanna, Rude Boy

After hearing the rest of the first stanza I thought to myself, “This is what the kids are listening to nowadays? This song deliberately talks about sex!”

With this insight, you may say that they are kids, they are young, what do they know about sex, they wouldn’t be able to decipher what the song is really about, blah blah blah…  But let me tell you, do not underestimate the youth, because they know a lot more about sex than what we knew when we were of their age.

And then I thought, does today’s music have something to do with that horrifying note I received days ago?

My answer is yes.

(Do not even try to argue, because if you see a video on Swangin, whatever your counter argument is will be invalid.)

It is sad that there is little I can do about the songs played on the radio today (Think, music producers!) but as a teacher, I swear, with all of my might, that I will do whatever I can to make my students realize that sex is not something to be taken lightly.

Had I lost hope on the youth as the future of society? No. As far as I am concerned, I am still part of the youth and my profession gives me the chance to guide the younger youth to the right path and because of that, I should do well.

I rest my case.

PS. My students were given an anecdotal record about the note-passing incident.

3 thoughts on “Of Note Passing and Today’s Pop Songs

  1. Ichiro

    Very interesting topic.
    Don’t tell me you have not experienced the same stuff when you were in their shoes not so long ago. It’s funny at first considering how I much I could relate to them (and I am not going to mention my own experiences with that because I don’t think it would be appropriate), but don’t get me wrong, I actually to agree with what you said.
    They may take these stuff lightly, but yes – they do know more than just making jokes out of them. Teenagers (like me?) are known to have raging hormones, and it is inevitable for them to run into such topics as it is part of growing up. But instead of teaching them the right facts about sexuality, the influence of the popular culture takes them to the back doors of such topics. It is a sad fact that it is the vehicle that most teenagers turn into nowadays, which often leads them to make wrong decisions.
    What is weird is that even teenagers themselves are actually aware of today’s issues such as single parenting, abortion, teenage pregnancy amongst other things – but popular culture made today’s youth turn a blind eye into such.
    Yes, the future of our country lies on today’s youth – I myself have not lost hope, but if this trend continues, I don’t think I could hold on to my stand for a much longer time.

    • danisaurrr

      Back in high school, I’ve passed notes with my classmates but never did we talk about sex.

      I am actually not angry about the students passing notes about sex, because I know they talk about that. I’m just disappointed with their reactions when I called them for a talk. Hindi man lang kasi sila nahiya eh.

      Hayy, Let’s just hope the future youth would be wiser.

      Thanks for the comment! :)

Leave a Reply

