From 2011 to 2012

Making a resolution is something that everyone has done over the past years. However, it is the actual doing of the resolutions that becomes the problem. Some of us never exert effort in trying to accomplish our resolutions. We make a list for the fun of it, then, we disregard the list because we realize doing the resolutions is not that fun.

Last year, I made a list of my New Year’s Resolutions, although I was quite cynical on whether I can accomplish them or not. Looking back and reviewing the list, I am proud to say that I have accomplished them allΒ most of them.

  1. Spend less time with the internet. I would have to say that I have not successfully achieved this one. BOO! I have to blame mobile internet for this but really, I can only blame myself.
  2. Read more. Achieved! Even though I was not successful in my 50 Book Challenge, I definitely read more books this year.
  3. Save. Check! This year, I opened another bank account and thanks to my savings, I was able to travel.
  4. Gain weight. Done! From 39kg last year, I went to 41kg this summer. Then, I went back to 39kg sometime July, then gained my weight back to 40kg at the end of the year. And yes, I am religious when it comes to tracking my weight.
  5. Write more. Success!Β Even though I stayed at Tumblr over the past year, I have deferred myself from microblogging and wrote a few lengthy posts.
  6. Be consistent. This resolution’s success is difficult to gauge.
  7. Be bad. Get caught. Make it count. Hmmmmm… The closest thing I have in accomplishing this resolution was defying the memorandums that came from the HR department with regards dress code (wore maong pants, didn’t wear the prescribed shirt, having the prescribed shirt repaired–these kind of shallow things). I was not even caught being “defiant”, and I am pretty sure I never made these “devious” acts count.

Now on to this year’s resolutions/goals.

  1. Exercise. Me and some friends have talked about running at Marikina Sports Center every weekends some time last year. I just hope this particular plan will push through. Although, do I really need to be in the company of friends to be motivated to exercise?
  2. Sleep early. Honestly, I have all the opportunity to sleep early even on workdays. However, there are times when I allow myself to sleep a little later because of reading or because of the internet.
  3. Establish a routine. Not the kind of routine that will drive me like a robot. I just want to discipline myself in doing repetitive tasks such as watering my succulent plants once a week and running weekly (in connection with goal no. 1).
  4. 2012 Reading Challenge. I wasn’t successful in reading 50 books last year (I only read a meager 20) but this year, I swear, I will read more books.
  5. Enroll in graduate school. Unfortunately, I cannot help but feel amiss with all the job opportunities that have passed by since I do not have masteral units.
  6. Find a part-time job. This I need, to support graduate school and at the same time, travelling.
  7. Find a new school. I love my current workplace but mostly it is because of the people that I work with, not because of the career opportunities that I am currently taking advantage of.

My last goal is the most important of them all and this will involve a lot of risks. So this year, my theme for 2012, will be all about courage. I have lived the past years inside my bubble, swimming with the current. I guess know 2012, which is a Year of the Dragon (Dragon is my Chinese Zodiac), is a perfect time for change, a perfect time to step out of my comfort zone.

I leave you, with a quote from Trainspotting.

The truth is that I’m a bad person. But, that’s gonna change – I’m going to change. This is the last of that sort of thing. Now I’m cleaning up and I’m moving on, going straight and choosing life. I’m looking forward to it already. I’m gonna be just like you. -Renton

I choose courage, I choose life.

One thought on “From 2011 to 2012

Leave a Reply

