On Starting Anew

First thing first, hello and welcome to my new blog!

This is conceived out of my desire to have a blog intended for serious blogging. Just so you know the brief history of my existence over the internet and to the blogging world, I first blogged at Friendster, then I got serious with Multiply, transferred to Livejournal, then got hooked with Tumblr. Whew. There is a history behind each blogging platform, but I am going to save that story, possibly, as one of my future entries.

The title of my new blog, Suburban Skies, is my url over Tumblr. These words were taken from The Beatles’ Penny Lane.

Penny Lane is in my ear and in my eyes
There beneath the blue suburban skies

Originally, I wanted to use stationeries.wordpress, but the name was taken. Tough nubs.

I wanted to go back to being a serious blogger like with what I used to do in Multiply and Livejournal because I believe that blogging actually improved my writing skills. Writing has helped me in a lot of ways, and being able to write is one of the things that I am proud of.

So much for the introduction, let me tell you about the year that is 2011!

2011 has no significant highlights compared to what I’ve achieved in 2010, especially in terms of career. But looking back, 2011 has been good to me. I was able to:

  • Have a vacation to two famous travel destinations here in the Philippines (Baguio and Cebu)
  • With the help of a friend, I was able to get myself a netbook
  • And with the help of my parents, I was able to give my room a makeover

However, 2011 also had its series of letdowns, of which I will not bother mentioning.

Despite of the roller coaster of a year, I am thankful for the year that is 2011. This year has helped me grow as a person, and my collection of experiences has taught me a lot of things.

I hope you had a marvelous year and here’s a virtual toast, to 2012!

Do you think the world will really end on 2012, as predicted?

PS. If you have a reader, please add my blog to your subscriptions. TIA!

Leave a Reply

